A WoW Blog. By Shakarr of Extra Bag Space, Saurfang

Frostkitty!!!


So, what If I told you, you could have your own Frostsaber, whether you are alliance or horde?

Now, what if I told you, you could even take this frosty cat with you to a job that doesn’t allow you to play wow?

This puss took me more hours than my old-fashioned, pre-daily, frostsaber rep grind, but the rewards are well worth it if you ask me. He sit’s up on the edge of my cubicle where me and my neighbors can enjoy looking at him daily. Oh, did I mention the best part? HE’S MADE OF PAPER!! Yup, printed, folded paper with a bit of glue and double-sided tape. He’s only one of my current papercrafting projects, but he get’s no less attention for it. Plus he makes it easy for people to find me whenever I move desks.

A BIG shout to PMF for creating these awesome files!!!!

And now for the details on how to get your own!

The Frostsaber files can be found here.

You will need Winrar, Acrobat reader (or some variation), and MOST importantly Pepakura to read the PDO files.

My papercrafting tips:

  • Invest in lots of double-sided tape.. even if you know you’re going to end up gluing a difficult part, it’s good to stick it together first to make sure you’re matching up the right stuff. (I buy the 3-packs from Walmart)
  • Toothpicks. They are great for getting small amounts of glue to cover a small area and to even it out. Plus you can use them to smooth down, and hold a tab together where fingers can’t reach. Clothespins are also a good investment for holding together open areas when you have to use your hands for other thinks like documenting calls.
  • Work in sections. Label your tabs, pages, and openings well. It’s very easy to lose track of what goes where.
  • Plastic bags, label stickers, and/or tupperware. I put the parts for each page into separate bags, label the bags, and put the larger parts into the tupperware containers.
  • Check your pages!!! I can’t stress this one enough. One of the projects I worked on had a complete section where the printed guide didn’t match the colored cutouts. I attempted to work past it, but it became impossible (I still don’t know if those pieces ever fit together). I fixed it eventually by printing the pepakura file instead of the pdf, but I lost about two and a half weeks on the project. Also my current project has pieces that are too dark to see where the folds are, and it’s not clear about the peaks and valleys, so I had to stop what I was doing and reprint the guide from home.
Leave a Reply

