A WoW Blog. By Shakarr of Extra Bag Space, Saurfang

PTR testing, updates and more..


I haven’t been writing much outside of the holiday guides, but it’s my goal to get back on track. We’ve downed Nefarian and Al’Akir, making EBS 12/12 Defenders of a Shattered World. I will begin working with my guild shortly to make guides available for these final two bosses. We have since also downed Heroic Halfus, though I don’t plan on writing any more guides past the normal 12 bosses. Firelands will remain to be seen as of yet, but I doubt I will be continuing to write, and instead focus on catching up on some achievement guide posts which are long past due. (Many of which have been changed since the release of this expansion).

I’ve been hard at work lately on leveling some alts, as Saurfang is still a relatively new server for me. I like having my professions covered and I’m still working toward this goal on this server, having no gold sucks. I’ve been vigilant on keeping you all updated with the holidays as they come out as well, many of which have seen some change since the remaking of the world. The travel ones in particular (Bring on Midsummer next, and I will do my best to have new coordinates for you all). I also have a side project going with the creation of my first machinima, based off a song written and performed by my ex-husband. Being as video editing is something I really want to take further in my life, I won’t be posting it on youtube until it’s absolutely perfect in my eyes, even if the draft right now is passable for posting.

I’ve also been playing around on the PTR. Yesterday I ventured in and faced off against Alysrazor. We didn’t get far in the fight unfortunately, our 3 pulls were accidental simply because someone in the party couldn’t resist ‘trying to pick up the pretty feather’ lying on the ground. After loosing a tank, the group fell apart. I did see enough of the fight though, mixed in with the help of the new in-game dungeon helper, to have an idea of its playability though. Don’t stand in the fire bubbles running around on the ground. Pick up 1 feather, run fast and cast while moving, pick up 2 feathers and more of the same, 3 feathers and you find yourself flying on the back of a bird. Obviously that 3rd is for the melee so I didn’t get to see what it was like up there, but from what they told me, you do take falling damage. On the ground you have chicks that target you and chase you, from what I can gather you want to lead these to the worms on the ground so they will eat them and become sated (vulnerable?) I couldn’t really confirm this last bit though with so few pulls. (I tried going with 2 other groups, but the results were abysmal and not worth mentioning as I didn’t even come close to a boss pull with them).

Today was supposed to be dedicated to Majordomo Staghelm. I was really psyched to go against this guy as I’ve followed a bit of the lore from Fandral from “Stormrage”, played a bit on the ally side a while back, and remember leading him out of the cave through the nightmare in the Hyjal quests. Alas he was not to be. Though I found a group of very friendly people to run this time around, real raiders to the core, the ptr had other ideas. 30 minutes after the instance was supposed to open and everyone was still waiting, Blizz finally decided it was time to restart the server to make it active. When we got back, it was worse than before, people floating in the air, dc’ing when they got near the portal, instance not found, not able to re-accept invites because the game apparently thought we were still grouped. After another 30 minutes of this, they finally decided it was borked, and rescheduled it for another time.

I hit the mailbox before logging though, and learned some interesting things…
The first thing I learned, is that there’s a new animation for when you’re checking your mail..
(you now look like you’re reading a map when you open your mailbox)

Second thing I learned, is that having pet achievements pays off. They were kind enough to send me 2 free pet biscuits, like the ones from the TCG. I’m guessing this is achievement related, but I couldn’t tell you at how many pets you get them at. I have roughly 155, and got 2 biscuits.
And on that note about pets, I found something else waiting for me in the mail as well…..
(again going under the assumption he’s achievement related)

This is Nuts. Yes, that’s his name. Pictured here with a pet biscuit, he’s actually same size as about a prairie dog pet. Although not as cute as my Moonkin Hatchling, he’s still quite a charmer. His cutest animation though, and I found this while being partial afk at the mailbox, is when he’s tired of waiting for you and stuns you by throwing an acorn at your head.

I really wanted to get a fraps of the inside of the instance for you guys today, the web area is just AMAZING, but I guess I’m just going to have to keep my eyes open for the next time they do the testing.
On another side note, since I logged on to the ptr an hour early, I decided to check the daily quest area. Like the cata zones it starts with a call to arms on the Org board. Sends you out to the west side of Hyjal (the exact place escapes me atm). But a note: You have to be quite far (maybe even completed) the Hyjal zone for these quests to be available. So that might be something you may wish to work on before 4.2 goes live.

 

Edit: the pets for the numbered pets have changed since I posted this.

  • Littlest Pet Shop, 150 pets, now rewards Celestial Dragon
  • Menagerie, 125 pets, now rewards Brilliant Kaliri
  • Petting Zoo, 100 pets, now rewards Nuts’ Acorn
Leave a Reply

